Stitch Fix Review August 2017

Stitch Fix Review August 2017

Hello, yes it’s Thursday and yes once again I am posting a Stitch Fix Review on a day that isn’t Friday 🙂  I am making it a habit!  But who complains when they get more Stitch Fix boxes then they had planned.  So follow along as I let you in on my Stitch Fix Review for August 2017.

This box taught me a very valuable lesson.  It’s getting very deep in here for a fashion review but keep reading and find out what my lesson was!  This box also contained the very worse piece I have ever received to date.

This page contains affiliate and referral links. If you make a purchase from clicking on a referral or affiliate link, I may receive a small commission.

What is Stitch Fix?

Stitch Fix is the first fashion retailer to blend expert styling, proprietary technology and unique product to deliver a shopping experience that is truly personalized for you. Simply fill out the Stitch Fix Style Profile and their personal stylists will handpick a selection of five clothing items and accessories unique to your taste, budget and lifestyle. You can buy what you like and return the rest (shipping is free both ways).

How does Stitch fix Work?

Begin by filling out the Style Profile. This helps Stitch Fix understand your size, style, shape, budget and lifestyle. Completing your Profile should only take about 10-15 minutes.  Select a delivery date from the calendar. It takes about a week if you want something last minute.

At the time your Stylist selects your items, you will be charged a $20 styling fee. That $20 will be applied as a credit toward anything you keep from your shipment.  Try everything on in the comfort of your home.  Buy what you like and return the rest.

The great thing about Stitch Fix is that they have something for practically everybody.  From women’s to men’s and even maternity clothes.

I love looking at Stitch Fix reviews.  I mean I obsess over them on Pinterest and Facebook.  Over the past couple of months I have read where you can go online after your order has shipped and get a sneak peek at what you will be receiving.  Before this box I have been very against this.  To me it ruins the surprise.  What fun is it getting a surprise box full of clothes if you peak and find out what is in it ahead of time.

BUT, we had planned a vacation the end of July and I really needed to know what was in this box so I could figure out what to pack 🙂  Excuses, excuses!  After peeking online I was devastated.  I only liked one thing.  To make matters worse this means I didn’t have any cute clothes to take on vacation with me.  I kept telling myself wait for the box maybe it won’t be as bad.

After the box came I opened it, with absolutely no excitement whatsoever (already knew what was inside).  And started pulling everything out and then………………..

it wasn’t as bad as I first thought.  So keep reading to find out what I kept, returned and absolutely hated.  The worst piece to date!

In this Stitch Fix box I received

Papermoon Anica Knit Top ($44.00)

Spade & Heart Ruben Off the Shoulder Knit Top ($38.00)

Urban Expressions Diana Clutch ($38.00)

Jolie Fia Cold Shoulder Knit Dress ($38.00)

Olive & J Georgia Off the Shoulder Embroidered Maxi Dress ($78.00)

I am going to start with my favorite that I received.

Jolie Fia Cold Shoulder Knit Dress

Urban Expressions Diana Clutch

stitch fix review august 2017

I loved this dress.  The material was awesome.  This dress was perfect for a date night with my hubby.  Unfortunately it is very short.  I think I could have sized up and it would have been find.  It’s shown in a size small.  But I wanted it for our vacation so I didn’t have time to exchange it.  And Urban wasn’t complaining, ha!  I styled it with wedges and a cute clutch that came in this fix as well.

stitch fix review august 2017

Sorry the picture is blurry.  But I wanted to show you how short is short from the back.  Pretty short 🙂  Not a dress you could bend over in.

You may remember this clutch from my last review, you can read it here.   I requested it again because I had sender’s back remorse.  Well after getting it again I decided again that it was too big for what I wanted a clutch for.  Sorry Blake, for making you send it again.

Papermoon Anica Knit Top

stitch fix review august 2017

Loved this top.  A back story on this top.  This is currently my 10th fix.  And I have been wanting a top like this from the very beginning.  It has the most adorable faux buttons that go up the back too.  Total blogger fail I didn’t get a picture of it!  This shirt is currently snug as a bug in my closet 🙂

If you have not received a Papermoon knit top I highly, highly recommend trying one out.  This cost $38 and the material is very soft.

Spade & Heart Ruben Off the Shoulder Knit Top

 stitch fix review august 2017

This shirt says knit but really it is a knit blend with spandex, ugh.  I did not care for this shirt at all. BUT when I put it on for Urban he whistled and smiled.  So yes I kept it and wore it out our second night on vacation with a cute pair of white skinny jeans.  The shirt is a very pretty grey color and could get you through every season with it’s versatile color.  I just did not like the spandex, but Urban loved it on me.  Fine, I will keep it 🙂 You twisted my arm.

And lastly, I am laughing as I type this.  I really and I mean really did not want to post a picture of this next outfit.

Olive & J Georgia Off the Shoulder Embroidered Maxi Dress

stitch fix review august 2017

When I pulled this dress out it felt like there was enough material  for two dresses.  It could put my wedding dress to shame with all the material it has.  Now for the good parts.  The red was very pretty, the embroidery work on it was exceptional and I loved the off the shoulder trend.  So why was it the worst item I have ever received.  It just did not fit that well.  A potato sack could have fit me as well.  It was a size small and if I went down a size maybe it wouldn’t have felt so bulky??  The dress really was pretty to look at just wasn’t pretty on 🙁

I kept three pieces this time.  The very important lesson I learned was…………

Never, NEVER look at what is coming in your box.  One of the reasons I get these boxes is for the excitement.  Being a wife, mamma and working outside of the home leaves very little time to spoil myself.  These boxes are a small way that I like to indulge on myself.  By peeking I ruined the surprise to myself.  And caused myself unnecessary stress because I ended up loving three of the pieces in the box.

My new stylist Blake is doing a fantastic job.  She really listens and looks at my Pinterest board for inspiration.  Click here to see what I have on my Summer Board.

If you would like to see my previous Stitch Fix Reviews you can click here

Have a wonderful Thursday, we have almost made it to the weekend:)



1 thought on “Stitch Fix Review August 2017”

Leave a Reply